ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Thread: Old cameras

Old cameras

I wanted to play with off-camera flash, which I'm just learning how to use, so I set these up on the dining room table. The camera on the left is my dad's Voigtlander Ultramatic from 1964, a shutter-priority auto-exposure SLR, amazing to me because aside from the light meter and the PC flash terminal, not a single electron courses through a single wire anywhere in the thing; it's completely and totally mechanical, with springs, cams, escapements, buttons, and levers. The camera on the right is what the Ultramatic replaced, a Voigtlander Vitessa folding rangefinder. The Vitessa still works, and once in a while I pump a roll of Velvia through it. The Ultramatic's shutter is jammed, and its meter does not respond to light, which is probably not good....

What I ended up with as my setup here was my Nikon D7000 with the 18-55 kit lens, handheld. My SB-600 was mounted on my tripod off to the left, facing away from the table and firing into a projection screen. (I have no reflectors, softboxes, or other lighting accessories.) I was getting too much light from the back wall so I had my grandchildren stand behind the table holding up black jackets to darken the back of the table. When I converted to B&W I raised the red slider (or was it yellow? now I don't remember!) to lighten the table in front of the cameras. The room was shaded but not dark. Curtains drawn at twilight, that kind of light.