• 05-01-2010, 10:02 PM
    timwaters77
    Need some good advice from the pro's
    I owned a photographer business 10 years ago and due to financial reasons had to quit and sell my equipment. I am looking to get back in the business and can use some advice on new equipment. Back then I was still using film, and obviously want to go digital now.

What minimum megapixels you would want for your camera?

I am looking to do mostly outdoor portraiture and possibly weddings.

I was looking at the Canon 50d with the 70-200 f2.8 lens.

What do you think of that? It's a 15 megapixel.

I owned medium format back in the day...Hasselblad. But can't afford to shell out the cash for the digital hasselblads. I also owned a canon slr with that same lens before and just loved it.

Thoughts?

Appreciate the help!
  • 05-01-2010, 10:56 PM
    n8
    Re: Need some good advice from the pro's
    I'm no pro, but considering pro-dslr's are sitting at around 12-16mp depending on the manufacturer, I'd say 12mp would be your minimum. Being a Nikon person myself, I believe the D300, D700, and even the D3, are all about 12.3mp (as is the consumer level D90 for that matter). I reckon the 15mp Canon would do you fine, but it sounds like the image isn't all about the mega-pixels anymore.
  • 05-01-2010, 11:03 PM
    timwaters77
    thanks Counsel. Appreciate the input.

If megapixels are not that important to a digital? what IS important?
  • 05-01-2010, 11:10 PM
    megan
    Lens quality. Megapixels go out the window if you're shooting with a crappy lens.
  • 05-01-2010, 11:27 PM
    mattbikeboy
    Being a Nikon guy I really love the D700 and the D300s. I get great results with both cameras in everything but low light -- then the D700 beats the D300s and everything else in it's price range (including the 5dmkII).