ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Thread: Century

Ghost

Century

I was a little hesitant to post this here but I thought some of you might enjoy the story (hopefully). There are a few photos as well but they were only made to capture the moment. I'm a bit lazy these days when it comes to taking photos. I'm officially Mr. Snapshooter who does no after processing

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

History.
    I started riding about a year ago. When last year ended with Winter taking over I set one goal for the next season; Complete a century ride. Today was my first attempt and I'm going to tell the story.

Last Week.
    On most days I commute 9 miles each way to work. During the past two weeks the wind has been horrible, almost painful with 20 mph gusts. It may not seem like much to some of you but for me it wasn't pleasant. But there was a side benefit that I was noticing; my legs were becoming stronger.

Contemplation.
    Yesterday I did a small hike with some friends in Starved Rock and was feeling very good physically. The weather was the best I've seen it in at least a month. Better still, it was predicted to carry on into today! All of this added up to me feeling a tad courageous.

The Plan.
    The route I chose to take is one I took before, 50 miles there and back (Schaumburg to Crystal Lake). Obviously I needed to do the route twice to complete a full 100 miles. My plan was to leave as early as possible but no later than 7AM. If I got tired at the 50 mile point I'd call it quits. The actual turn around point in Crystal Lake was a friends house. This allowed me to take care of anything, if needed. I thought it was a pretty good plan.

6:00 AM.