ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Ideas for camera rental business?

Hey guys,

Im a noob when it comes to cameras, but Ive always liked to try stuff out before I bought it. I know that most major cities (as photo-john told me) have pro-rental stores, but ive noticed them to be really expensive, and not catering to the just the photo enthusiast.

My idea is to rent cameras online (ship them in the mail, and you only pay for the days that the equipment is in your hands), as well have a small store front in downtown los angeles. I would have small selection of DSLRs, just canon and nikon. Lenses would be a major focus (for both nikon/canon), and I would try to get a couple of L-series lenses as well.

I know also photo shoot equipment (umbrellas/lights etc) is popular, and that would be could be rented at the storefront because of shipping issues.

What would you guys rent? I want to be able to rent amateur, the tourist, starting wedding photographer etc. (I dont want to rent point and shoots, but maybe the middle range canons like the g5s)

prices would be very competitive, and shipping time would be very fast, as right now I only have plans for the west coast.

ideas? thoughts? anything would be great!
    Last edited by carbnjunkie; 10-27-2005 at 11:04 AM.

Re: Ideas for camera rental business?

Whew, getting into that kind of deal is risky at best. The place I deal with for rental gear wants blood both arms and legs, plus deposit.... and they know me personally! They have for some items foregone the deposit, but still.