ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question How do you balance....

your personal taste/style vs popular opinion in your photography? This is something I've been debating a lot lately. I'm still relatively new to photography, at least as far as trying to take my work seriously. While the critiques I have received here have helped me immensely, I find I often walk away torn. I submit images that are based on my own vision/feeling of a given situation or place. The critiques, while they often make great sense and make for a great and/or better composed photograph technically, they may not always reflect how I "see" the subject myself. How I view something may not be the technically correct way or the most popular way. I'm sure no matter how much all of you want to take the shot that is most visually appealing to yourselves, you want a shot that others will enjoy as well. Okay, I'm rambling at this point... basically what I'm curious about is when you take a photo, how do you balance/decide to go with your own taste/style/flare vs what the "popular version" or technically correct version may be?

PS- Sorry for the rambling. Been a LONG week and I tend to over think things when I get behind on sleep
    Aaron Lehoux * flickr
    Please do not edit my photos, thank you.

Poster Formerly Known as Michael Fanelli mwfanelli's Avatar

Re: How do you balance....

Quote Originally Posted by Xia_Ke