• 06-16-2004, 07:55 AM
    Stina
    Help needed from the Wedding Photographers here
    All you wedding photographers out there I need your help. I’ve recently agreed to photograph the wedding of a couple I go to church with. It is a second marriage for the both of them and will be small. They’ve seen some of my portraits and ask me to do the wedding for them, I did explain that I’ve never done a wedding before. I believe I have all the equipment I need (including 2 back up bodies) and plan to use Kodak Portra UC film for color and a few rolls of BW400CN for black and white. I have a list of suggested posed shots I will go over with the two of them along with discussing which photos will be taken before and after the ceremony. I plan to go up to the church and take some practice photos next week to hopefully catch and correct any lighting problems I might have and enlist one of the high school students to help me with equipment (my husband who would normally do this has to work the day of the wedding). Aside from trying to calm my nerves and prepare as much as possible what tips and suggestions do those of you who do wedding have for me. Anything would be great as daily the responsibility of what I have agreed to sinks in. Thanks in advance.

Christina
  • 06-16-2004, 08:20 AM
    Mike Platts
    A shoe mounted flash is a must. If you can get it on a bracket it would be even better. Along with that you will need a battery pack to recycle the flash faster.

If you can't afford a hotshoe flash, then don't use one at all (no onboard flash) and use fast film. Red Eye will kill the photos.

If you have a hotshoe flash and no battery pack, then I would also use fast film so that the flash will recycle faster. You have no Idea how stressful it is waiting for the flash to recycle as the wedding party stares at you waiting.

Other than that don't get too fancy with you 1st wedding. Look for nice locations.