ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Smile new to the community

new to the community-sf-night-lights.jpg

new to the community-moon-over-sf.jpg

Hi all!
    My name is Jordan and this is my first posting. I bought my first camera in 1987, a Nikon N4040. I'm not a professional photographer, in fact, an amateur. I love photgraphy but I just can't fully master how to manually set and use the camera (not auto mode). I took a beginner photography class in a local community college back when I was still fascinated with my nikon but I just lost interest as the time passed.

Less than a month ago, I purchased my second camera, the new nikon D80. The kit lens was back order so I came home and try to use an older lens from my nikon n4040. I took my first shot and I was amazed. I love this camera so I decided to renew my commitment with my lost hobby.

I bought 2 new lens designed for D80 and I'm excited to post my pictures. I live in San Francisco and adore the city. My first posting will be my home town.

I'm still earning how to use my nikon and this website so please bear with me and advise me gently.

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: new to the community

Hi, Jordan.
    There was a bunch from here that recently had a get together for night shots in SF. You might want to scroll down to find their escapades and maybe you'll hook up with some of them sometime.

Looking good. Welcome too. I hope you post plenty of pictures...
    Greg
    I am like Barney Fife, I have a gun but Andy makes me keep the bullet in my pocket..

Sony a99/a7R

Love both shots! Well done!