• 12-27-2008, 10:28 AM
    zooathome
    Good Photography vs. Good Photo Editing
    I have been studying photography on my own for several months. I just got my DSLR for Christmas (kind of like learning how to drive a car from a book, without a car to drive). Prior to that I had a simple P&S.

How much of photography is in the art of the initial photograph, subject, scene, etc. and how much of it is in the photo editing?

I am not experienced at photo editing beyond the basics and I worry that without those skills (which I do intend to learn, just don't have them now) I will struggle in this field.

I would love thoughts on the level of importance of great photo taking vs. great photo editing.
  • 12-27-2008, 11:29 AM
    hollis
    Re: Good Photography vs. Good Photo Editing
    To capture a scene, I think there are several steps involved.

1. You have to "See" the picture in your mind
    a lot of people look at a pretty sunset and go "ah!"
    its another thing to look at a scene and go...
    "thats the shot I want, I'll need my tripod, wide angle lens, & ND filter.
    I need to get very low and shoot at this angle"

2. You have to capture that image with your camera
    back to the sunset, lots of people grab their cameras & snap away.
    but when the pics come out, they are dull & boring.
    Chances are the "Auto" camera setting didnt capture the scene
    like you saw it. You have to know your camera.

3. Photoshop
    This can be an Art just like making a Fine Print
    Half of what made Ansel Adams great was what he did in the darkroom.

So to me, a good photo is when all 3 of these elements mesh well.
  • 12-27-2008, 11:34 AM
    zooathome
    Quote:

Originally Posted by hollis
    To capture a scene, I think there are several steps involved.

1. You have to "See" the picture in your mind
    a lot of people look at a pretty sunset and go "ah!"
    its another thing to look at a scene and go...