ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Re: Decline of Newspaper Industry

I just stumbled across this thread and felt compelled to post. I work in the publishing industry and worked in newspapers exclusively from 1989 until 2005, when I was laid off by The Old Grey Lady. I've worked for independent distributors, The Financial Times, The International Herald Tribune and The New York Times. I've only worked on the business side but have been involved with everything from customer service, to production, circulation marketing, to launching new digital products, with distribution and single copy sales thrown in for good measure. After working the last couple of years as a consultant (read: unemployed) I currently work at a small but influential magazine as circulation director.

The decline of newspapers can be attributed to many things. Rising costs for things such as fuel and newsprint have been a major factor. Labor also has been an issue because many newspaper employees are unionized. Certainly this is a factor and newspapers have always suffered when the economy is bad.

However, the biggest thing that most newspaper executives point to is a loss of advertising to the internet, especially on the classified side.

Classified advertising used to be the cash cow for newspapers. The orders came in over the phone so there was no need for a highly paid sales executive; you only needed a warm body to take the order. Classified space is sold at a premium compared to display advertising, so overall classified was much more profitable. The key classified categories that newspapers lost were recruitment and real estate. These categories are better served through the internet.