ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Need Editing Help

I'm trying to put together a group of B&W photos to show at the gallery at The New York Institute of Technology fine arts department where I graduated in 1971. They are pretty critical of what they show and the gallery director is a PITA who didn't return my emails. I sent a few jpegs to the fine arts director and he liked a few and wants to meet me in mid-April to show about 15 mounted and matted prints. Anyway I find it difficult to edit my own work and would appreciate opinions of the forum members here of what they like. I have provided a link to a
    B&W portfolio folder
    . I don't want to clog up the forum here and if a few people could email me what they like or even dislike I would appreciate it. Thanks

Gerry...I'll take a look tomorrow and email you. :-)

Co-Moderator, Photography as Art forum megan's Avatar

I took a look...

Since the majority of the work is street photogrpahy, to keep the bunch cohesive, I would stick with that. I would edit out: the very last shot [abstract], the snowy bugs [I think the plain bugs is a stronger shot], the last bench photo [too repetitive after the stronger 2 bench shots], and the truck grill and the boat [nice shots, but dosn't fit in with the series]. That narrows it down to about 23 or so - so I guess from there I would see which shots might be too similar [hard to do!]; for example: 2 shots where the benches figure prominently still remain. Which one do you feel is stronger - the curved back-to-back benches, or the perspective with the person all the way at the other end?

That is, at least, my thought process when editing my work down. I hope it helped a little bit.