ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Question Canon 60D vs. 70D

Hi Guys,

I am brand new here. Just getting started into product photography (i have a friend who has a website and has asked me to shoot his products) and am looking at either the Canon 60D or 70D? I can get the 60D for about half the price of the 70D. I see the 70D has better video features but is there any real difference in image quality?

I have also read somewhere that these might be overkill for website requirements - I would however like something i can use to take photos when traveling.

Any suggestions - or should I even be considering a lower end DSLR (maybe the Canon T3 or T5)?

I have some past photography experience from school but Im not that knowledgeable.

Thanks in advance everyone!

- Mark

Re: Canon 60D vs. 70D

Welcome to PR, Mark!

I don't have firsthand experience with either camera you are considering, however I've heard from number of 60D users who've been very happy with that camera. There are a couple reviews posted on this site at Canon EOS 60D Reviews - PhotographyREVIEW.com