ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

(Amateur) 4th of July Photos

Alright, chances are you'll think my photos suck for the following reasons:

1.) I'm a newbie to photography
    2.) I'm only 15½
    3.) I just suck.

But I would really like to have you guys critique/rate/provide constructive criticism to my photos so I could improve. I intend on taking a photo class next year (11th) anyway, and I would like to have a headstart. By the way, I'm only using a 3.2 MP Olympus D-540.

Thank you in advance, ladies & fellas.

El Perro (the dog):

The quality on this one sucks for some reason.

My backyard (view):

Some pretty-lookin' flower that caught my eye.

(Taken on July 3rd). The sky was freakishly pink, and since pink is my favorite color i decided to whip out the camera and shoot this one.

(Taken on July 4th)

Fireworks:

These fireworks were WAY FAR from my backyard, so I had to zoom in so much that it reduced the quality.

They both came out as mess-ups obviously, but i decided to post them anyway because i thought they appeared to be pretty interesting.

in this one, you can see the firework (the purple streaks) shoot it's way up higher towards the sky right before "exploding".

i messed up in this one since my hands weren't completely still when the picture was taken. the red "fireball" apparently was the firework, and the remaining lights (below) were just the lights of the houses below.

nature/wildlife co-moderator paulnj's Avatar

oh please!

the first and the fireworks are the only ones that are less than desirable!

in the first your shutter speed was too slow or you shake alot......

AND