Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Wow now how'd he do that? The backgrounds gone white!

People of photography, I would like to draw your attention to the following link:

http://www.tipsfromthetopfloor.com/w.../ebayphoto.jpg

I'm at a wits end trying to work out how this snappers managed to make the background completely white. I'm ashamed of my carpet and want to hide it from view. Anyone shed some light?

Be nice i'm still a newbie!

Re: Wow now how'd he do that? The backgrounds gone white!

Probably has extracted it and put in to another image that is white, as the shadows seem to be gone, or has done a white balance and rubbed out the shadows with an eraser.

What are you trying to do and how are you doing it, show something here so we can get an idea and then help.

Hi peter, I'm trying to do the exact same thing albeit with a different item. Id like a simple step by step guide of how to vanish the background as he has done. I've been looking about for days and cant seem to find any information? I'd had a play about with ArcSoft Photostudio 5.5 and I just cant do it. I'm on level 3 of the Newbie ladder. I understand my camera now I'm trying the touching up skills. Hope that gives you an insight into me! Cheers!

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Curves or levels tool in photoshop...

What you're seeing is photoshop 101. The effect is easily done using either the Curves or Levels tool. If you notice, the entire contrast of the "after" image is bumped up quite a bit.

Simply set the bg as your white point, adjust the shadows and midtones, and erase select and remove the rest of the unwanted shadows from around the item.