Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.
    Valzan

Lighting for a one time group shot

Hi Everyone,

I have been asked to shoot a 30 member chorale singing group. The setting will be in a dimly lit chapel before their next concert. I have been a photographer for may years but haven't done studio work so I don't have strobes or other studio lighting. I will be shooting with a Canon 40D. I have a 580 EX II flash which I know is totally inadequate in this situation but will provide some fill lighting. I do have two sets of 1200 Watt halogens with stands. Would it work to bounce these lights off of umbrellas, set the camera's color balance for halogen, shoot RAW images, and then tweak color with Photoshop? Is this even close to enough light?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Valzan

Re: Lighting for a one time group shot

With 30 people, you need huge light sources to cover them evenly. The best way to do that would be to use the halogens for sure. If the ceiling is low enough and white, I'd try to bounce them off of it. If the walls are white and close, then you could possibly use those. But I realize that isn't the case with most chapels. So I think you'll have to be a bit creative.

I don't think an umbrella is going to be big enough unless you use HUGE ones. That would probably work alright. If you want really soft light, I've never done this, but you may try rigging up two white bed sheets and place the lights behind those (with some distance b/t the lights and sheets, of course). That would give you great diffusion and would obviously cut down the power a lot, but I think it would still be enough to help the situation and give you some nice head to toe light.

But that's the only suggestion I've got. Absolutely shoot in RAW and take several shots. Good luck!
    Brad