Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Question Studio Lighting Help...Please

I am currently investigating a start-up studio lighting kit for personal and side business use. I have extensive knowledge of lighting for Broadcast Television but unfamilar with proper studio lighting equipment to meet my needs - for digital photography. I have a Canon D20 and would like a start-up versatile kit to do some studio portraits and something for outside (The indoor studio is main priority). My experience is with continuous lighting for television - what is the end result difference between strobe lighting and continuous for in-studio portraits? Should I buy a start-up kit using contiuous or strobe for an in-door studio???? Which ever you suggest...any good start-up kits that everyone likes??? Is the same true for exterior lighting? Use 56K white light continuous or strobe??? Any thoughts...I am humble and open for suggestions!!!

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Re: Studio Lighting Help...Please

Welcome to the site, bobby. Your question is tough to answer because there is no single correct solution. Besides electronic flash and traditional "hot lights", there is a whole new generation of cool fluorecsent lights perfectly suited for still photography.

You may be interested to know that some are the exact same units used for tv studio lighting...

A good friend of mine designs tv newsroom lighting, an he's turned me on to the brightline system (http://www.brightlines.com/), fixtures I'd imagine you might be familiar with.

I'm also looking at the Westcott Spiderlight fixtures, which are a bit more specifically suited to still work (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=15&Submit.y=9).