Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

new-b needing help setting up studio using Cannon G3

hi, a newbie here.

I'm a layout editor for our university yearbook.
    but i am forced to do another task in our organization, which is to take pictures for the delayed pictorial.

there are only about 10 graduates that I will be taking. since they did not subscribe early. they did not catch the graduation pictorial schedule.

though I am familiar with the G3's manual settings. this is my first time to take a studio shot.

now, my problem is I don't know how to take a good shot. and know what is a good shot in a first place. and with only the equipment we have for our org.

we only have Cannon G3 4-mega pixel & one Strobo N-300 studio light.

can anyone give me tips, Do's and Dont's with the camera & light studio that I'm using?

and also help me where should i place the light. with the right distance. and estimating for a good exposure. and using the light set effectively inside an ordinary room where there are florescent lights?
    Last edited by rion; 10-15-2004 at 08:39 AM.

Re: new-b needing help setting up studio using Cannon G3

Frankly, I would tell them "tough luck". If they skipped the 'pro shoot', for whatever reason, that's 'their problem' - and makes them more likely to skip out on your effort to include them as well, unfortunately. (Speaking as one who spent two years working the High School yearbook, with a Canon AE-1, some years ago - and had a similar experience trying to 'include' a few people who missed out on the professional portrait shoot sessions.)