• 12-10-2004, 09:01 PM
    chuckmoser
    Some studio shooting advice please...
    I SHOULD be able to figure this out by myself, but I'm a little miffed- and hopefully one of you nice folks can give me a quick slap upside the head.

Taking decent photos hasn't been a problem thus far. But I'm just beginning to dive into using the RAW format. Of course, nearly all of my shots are taken outside.
    But things have been a little too calm lately, and I thought I'd add some stress to my life.

I've recently purchased a couple of 750w hotlights (w silver umbrellas) to practice taking some low-end product photography studio shots. When I shoot in RAW mode (Canon Digital Rebel) the resulting pic looks fine on the camera LCD screen, however, when later opened in Photoshop, it's dramatically underexposed. (The shutter speed, aperture, etc. reads correct in the viewfinder when first shooting.) Messing with the exposure settings, etc., takes care of this, and the photos turn out fine in the end with little or no grain, but I'd like to get it a lot closer to a properly exposed photo when I shoot the photo.

My question is this: Is it normal for the intial RAW preview to be a little underexposed so as to let you fine tune it afterwards? Or should I just overcompensate with the f-stop and assume that it will turn out alright in the end?

I have the typical white paper background, and I'm assuming that's throwing me off.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks much,
    Chuck
  • 12-10-2004, 10:35 PM
    Asylum Steve
    What do you consider "dramatically" underexposed?...
    Quote:

Originally Posted by chuckmoser
    When I shoot in RAW mode (Canon Digital Rebel) the resulting pic looks fine on the camera LCD screen, however, when later opened in Photoshop, it's dramatically underexposed.