Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Question Product photography. Please help!

Hi Everyone,

I have been struggling for a while now to make a good setup to register items for my portfolio (i am a graphic designer.) It has really been difficult to get it right. I keep feeling that i don't have enough light. My latest setup consists of:

2x100 W 6400K CFL's on the right side (in two soft boxes)
    2x85 W 6400K CFL's in the middle and,
    4x85 W 6400K CFL's in a big softbox on the left.
    Some white deflectors and a grey backdrop

I'm using a Nikon D200 SLR with a Tokina AT-X 100mm f/2.8 PRO D Macro Lens and a Nikon 50mm f/1.4 on a tripod. I shoot manual mode at ISO100, and around aperture 11-16 to get everything sharp. Shutter times are not too long. I use Sofortbild and Photoshop CS4 on a USB connected mac to control the shoot.

In spite of all my efforts, the result still comes out a bit unsharp. I can't say that i'm happy at all. I have to register 3 years of work, and therefore i would like avoid big amounts of retouch.

I have included an image with the setup and zooms of the result.

I hope someone can give me a few pointers to get it better. This is as far my amateur knowledge gets me. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards Kalle

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Re: Product photography. Please help!

Well, I don't have a lot of experiecne with copy work, but I do have a few observations, so I'll share.

One, you have plenty of light. If you're working with a tripod, and assuming there isn't hurricane force wind in your studio, there's no reason you can't slow your shutter speed down to whatever it takes to get a good bright exposure.