Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.
    Sports photo junkie jorgemonkey's Avatar

Product photography help

I need to take pictures of about 30-40 different objects, all are shiny metal objects about this size. What would be the best (or actually the cheapest) way to light these? They are going to be used for a web store with a white background. This picture was taken to show what the products are using a Nikon D70 & an SB600. I work in a warehouse as well as doing some of the product photography for items we sell. I have access to a few small watt lights (aka 5-6 60-70 watt houselights) to use, as well as some white foamcore board to use as a background. I can get all the other product stuff, but these shiny objects are the biggest hurdle I've come up against!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Ghost

Re: Product photography help

Use the white foamcore as the background. But what you'll want to learn to do is to use black or white foamcore in the reflection so that you have a smooth tone to the object. In other wods, pretend it's a mirror and fill the mirror completely with the tone of your choice (black or white foamcore). You'll need to angle everything so that the camera see's the black faomcore through the reflection of the object.

If you want it to look more "silvery" use white. Adjusting the cameras exposure also make a huge difference in appearance so play with that too.

It's easier to do than to describe! sorry. You may need some fairly large foamcore depending on the focal length of the lens and distance from camera/subject. Use the longest lens possible to help.Use