Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Angry FRUSTERATED! Home Studio Setup, Over Exposure!

HELP ME PLEASE!
    I am starting to go crazy. I am new to studio photography and am having trouble with my set up.
    Here are the specs on the lights:
    A Master/Slave Flash
    A Slave Flash
    7 ft Light Stands
    Two 32" umbrellas (Silver/White)
    The Master strobe has a guide number of 55 (Main light) and the slave strobe 42 (Fill light).

I have posted a picture of my set up.

My pictures have a very hard bleak, deer in headlights look to them.
    The specs on the picture of my not impressed husband and daughter:
    1/125
    ISo100
    Auto White balance
    Canon Rebel EOS Digital

If anyone can give me pointers it would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Are both your master and slave set to put out the most flash from each, How close to the subject are the lights.

If the lights are adjustable setup your camera on manual and set your settign sto f5.6 and 125 as a starting point. Then depending on the output, adjust either the camera settings or the flash setting to compensate. If your flash heads can be adjusted manually then if over exposed turn the flash down reverse if not using full power and they are under exposed. Try starting with the one flash first to get the lighting right for that and then turn the other on and adjust

I have read that it is better to have the fill flash near to camera light just next to you and the main at around 45 degree to subject, higher than then subject as well pointing down.

Have your subjects away from the background about 4-5 feet for shadows to fall off and down to the floor.

Isn't studio shoots just that much frustrating, know how you feel.

Hope that helps as a small guide.

A loooong way from 1000! Cowgirl's Avatar