Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Student Needs Help!

Hey All,

I'm new here so excuse me if I come off as clueless (not far from the truth!).

At the beginning of the summer, I was elected to be the sports editor for my school's paper for the next two years (or until I graduated. You never know!).

When I took over, the sports department was lacking. The newsroom has photographers and staff writers along with school owned cameras. The sports department, on the other hand, is myself and no camera.

I use Quark Express to do 3 full-size newspaper pages a day. And, for the last 5 years, there has never been a photo in the sports page because we were never given a camera. I've tried to get funding through the communication department and straight from the state, but nobody will help out.

So I'm buying one myself to make the sports page about 100x better.

My question is: What camera should I buy?

I'm willing to spend over $250 but that needs to be able to take images that are paper quality. We don't print many color photos except for the front page so black and white photos are the usual. And a nice zoom would be nice too (maybe a 10x).

I'm really new at all the terms about shutter speed and stuff but I know the numbers need to be high for sports photography. Any help would be great.

Re: Student Needs Help!

film or digital?

If film, I recommend this:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ughType=search

and maybe this:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...goryNavigation