Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

A fast flash for action?

Hey,
    So as you guys probly know by now I'm an amateur mountain bike photographer. Well, I was taking pictures yesterday with my tamron lens (since the canon 1.8 doesnt work at 1.8 with M mode...canons working on helping me though) and most pictures turned out pretty good in the DK area, since all the trees are cleared out and allow alot of light in. But a few shots turned out dark such as these.

Point being, what flash can you recommend that would save these for my Canon XTi? I take pictures right after one another super fast (3fps if I can usually) So are there any flashes that can recharge that for for atleast 5-8pictures in a row at 3fps? I dont need anything super fancy, just a decent flash that wont kill pictures with light but will add some light to the photos when taking fast shots.

Thanks.
    New to photography/Amateur Photographer.

Canon Rebel XTi
    Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8
    Canon 50mm f/1.8 II
    Canon 70-200mm f/4 L USM
    Speedlite 430EX
    Slik 340DX A.M.T. w/ pan tilt head

Good day.

Re: A fast flash for action?

Why doesn't your fifty 1.8 work in Manual? Check your focus switch A= auto focus
    M = manual focus.
    JS can answer flash ?
    Jimmy B

Not-so-recent Nikon Convert livin4lax09's Avatar

you can't shoot with any flashes full power on burst. you have to dial down the power quite a bit to shoot 3 flashes per second. Most flashes recharge to full in about 1 second.