My son the Shot Putter

Printable View

• 04-12-2007, 01:50 PM
    MonkeyWrench
    1 Attachment(s)
    My son the Shot Putter
    This is one shot of my son doing the shot put.

I am not a very good sports photographer and I hope by moving to digital will help me improve. Any advice on how to best photograph this event would be appreciated. He also does the high jump. My other son does the hurdles. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give. Russ
  • 04-12-2007, 03:06 PM
    Beamer
    Re: My son the Shot Putter
    Russ,

I don't know much about photography, because I just started shooting to. But from what I gather, try to get facial expressions.

Happy Shooting,

Beamer
  • 04-12-2007, 05:58 PM
    MonkeyWrench
    2 Attachment(s)
    Thanks Beamer,

This is the rest of the sequence with facial expression.
  • 04-13-2007, 07:46 PM
    Old Timer
    Russ as I think I mentioned earlier my son and daughter ran track in high school and I always enjoyed getting as many pictures as possible of them. I still enjoy shooting track and field and as Beamer mentioned the facial expressions can be all important in this sport. As in all sport you should always strive to capture the moments of extreme exertion or peak action. Such as the moment that the shot is released from the finger tips. Your off to a great start for the season keep it up.
  • 04-13-2007, 08:20 PM
    MonkeyWrench
    1 Attachment(s)
    Thanks Larry,

I am having trouble trying to get the background blurred and still get a good exposure. This is a shot a just took tonight. You and Brent would of been proud I did it all manually relying on my exposure meter and histogram. The shot came out okay, I would just like to have the background less in focus. As for off to a good start you can thank Brent for that he gave me a few pointers in another post. This picture was taken with my 50mm f/1.8 lens. I am finding it to be quite handy.
  • 04-14-2007, 03:13 AM
    JSPhoto
    Russ,