Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Motorcyle Road Racing

Hi,

I'm new to digital photography and would like some help on to which camera to buy. I would like to buy a camera specific for motorcycle road racing ie. public roads in the British Isles not circuits. I understand a fast shutter speed is going to be essential. Can anyone tell me what else I need to look out for or recommend any specific cameras?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Manxman

The Isle!

Oh my god. Shooting the Isle of Mann is one of the things I want to do before I die. That's the most wonderful and terrible race in the world. I will live vicariously, if you go this year.

Some questions -

* What kind of photography experience do you have?

* What is your budget?

The first question is because you can't count on the camera to do the job for you. Camera technology is truly awesome now. But the TT isn't even close to any normal type of event. You will need some photo skills. Get your camera and start practicing, NOW.

Budget is critical. Without knowing what you have to spend, I'll make a list that will easily exceed $10,000 US. If that's ok, then I'm also available as a traveling tutor :-)

A pro would take the Canon EOS 1D, the EOS 1D Mark II, the Canon EOS 1Ds, the Nikon D1X, or the Nikon D2H. Those cameras are top of the heap - especially for sports. The absolute best right now is the EOS 1D Mark II. It's got the fastest autofocus, 8.5 frames-per-second, and an 8 megapixel CMOS sensor. Second choice would be the Nikon D2H or the Canon EOS 1D. They're both 4 megapixel cameras with super-fast AF that will capture 8 frames-per-second.