Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Hockey game with blurred figures.

I am new to the SLR Digital Rebel so I was wondering if someone could help me figure out how I got this shot. Why are the skaters around the centered Naslund blurred. It was not my intention but it seems to be a rather unique effect.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Hockey game with blurred figures.-naslund-cropped.jpg  

It's dark in there?

Quote Originally Posted by Michael
    I am new to the SLR Digital Rebel so I was wondering if someone could help me figure out how I got this shot. Why are the skaters around the centered Naslund blurred. It was not my intention but it seems to be a rather unique effect.
    There's not much light at a hockey game... even with the lens wide open, camera needs a slowish shutter speed for proper exposure. During the longer exposure, the players moved around, thus the blur. As for Naslund, maybe he was standing still?

Were you using one of the automatic modes?

Stinkin' Know-It-All
    By the way, you DO know that those ultra-sharp pictures you see from hockey games are the result of shooting with strobe, right? It's almost impossible to get really tack-sharp results when shooting hockey unless you're plugged into the strobes that live up in the ceiling of every major sports arena in the country...

http://www.daveblackphotography.com/...a-lighting.htm
    http://www.siphoto.com/?FinalFourRules.inc

BeeT's

Quote Originally Posted by Brad Trent
    By the way, you DO know that those ultra-sharp pictures you see from hockey games are the result of shooting with strobe, right? It's almost impossible to get really tack-sharp results when shooting hockey unless you're plugged into the strobes that live up in the ceiling of every major sports arena in the country...

BeeT's