Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Question Inquiry: Sony a850 for Fashion?

Hello,
    I'm a student who has practiced photography for about six years now, about to attend classes at an arts school for photography (and yes, my classes will be digital classes), and have been looking to buy a new dSLR. Most of the work I do and intend to pursue is fashion photography. I was recommended by a few professionals (one who works in a similar field) that the a850 would be a great deal / set-up for me, for several reasons.

The problem is, I know extremely little about Sony as a dSLR line and after seeing a couple of sample-shots, I have been slightly scared by the seemingly overly sharp quality of the photos and what to me seems like poor processing, although this could also be a lens issue (I am not very familiar with Sony / Zeiss lenses at all).

Could anyone recommend / not recommend this model? If anyone has any shots (especially of people) they have taken with the a850 they could show me, it would be immensely appreciated.

The price of this camera and the things I have been told I can take advantage of in this brand / model are very appealing. It'd be a great help if some users could persuade or dissuade me from it, because as always, the whirlwind that is choosing a new dSLR is a delicate, threatening process. xP

Thanks very much!

(Also, I know this is not exactly Sony-related, but does anyone have any thoughts on the Canon EOS 7D?)
    Last edited by zipperfoot; 01-05-2010 at 02:44 PM.

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: Inquiry: Sony a850 for Fashion?