Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Sony A200 rattling noise and attempting to focus(?) when turning on/off

I am an amateur so I apologise for my poor description and grasp of technical (and porobably not so technical!) photography terms. I have had this camera (Sony A200) for over 4 years and had no problems but on this current trip I have had a few issues. Firstly it started to steam up (it is hot, humid and AC may be a factor), this was happening behind the lens which I needed to remove a couple of times for it to de-fog. Second the band around the lens started to become a little loose (just a little, possibly also heat/humidity related but it has coped with both previously). Third it started to have a problem at times when I zoomed in all the way and t would struggle to focus and seem to continually shift in and out trying to focus but fail to do so. I could zoom out a little and this would be solved (not ideal but workable). Today it went one step further and now everytime I turn it on or switch it off it makes a noise I have not heard before (sounds like it is cleaning itself, which I tried and it doesn't sound like I imagined it would), and this lasts for 3 to ten seconds. The front of the lens moves around and it makes a lot of noise, on switching off it makes the same noise for about 3 seconds. It is like it is trying to turn something that isn't catching. When on it is also now struggling to focus... I have never used manual focus but switching to that doesn't halp. I have tried factory reset and playing with any setting I thought might make a difference.