Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Hi. I'm new here.

I am new in these parts, so I wanted to say hi and post a photo to see what you guys think. I do a lot of portraits and I LOVE black and white. This is a promo shot I did for a local band.[IMG][/IMG]

Re: Hi. I'm new here.

I too am a fan of b and w. Love the sharpness of this shot.

It is difficult for me to get the stark blacks and whites. Might suggest a hair light to help separate the subject from the background a bit.

I agree! However I was in the music studio and only had an external flash with a home made soft box over it. It was a small space so I really had no room for lighting. Work with what you got right? :-)

Overall a nice shot. I think that character is well portrayed here. The face is a bit blown out, for instance it is difficult to define the nose. (However, I like the blouse being blown out). Also, I think the microphone is just a little too close, though, that might be decision made on purpose To me, it just accentuates a forced pose as opposed to natural. From what you have written, the space may have defined what could or couldn't be done.

Yes there was EXTREMELY limited space, about 3 feet to be exact lol. And it is for a 20's jazz band so I was going for that kind of old hollywood type of of look which was a lot of times very high key but I do see what you are saying.

GB1