Canon Cameras Equipment Forum

For discussing all things Canon - Canon digital SLRs, Canon PowerShot digital cameras, Canon film cameras, lenses, accessories, etc. Your Canon Cameras Forum moderator is livin4lax09.
Canon Digital SLR Reviews >>
Canon Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 35mm Film SLR Reviews >>
All Canon Product Reviews >>
Canon Cameras & History >>

Question Best Settings for Powershot A640 5 Megapixels?

Hello Camera Enthusiasts,

This is my first time posting here. Again, hello and thanks for having me.

Before I get into my problem, I'd like to say that I have a "little less than nothing" where it concerns operating a camera. Which explains why I bought a Point and Shoot model. Anyway, I finally bought my very first digital camera the other day. It's a Canon Powershot 640 with 5 Megapixels. It's got a 1GB memory card installed in it.

I've noticed when I take a snapshot of myself or of others, the image always ends up looking like a different person other than the one standing in front of the lens. It's very frustrating to say the least. I don't know if it's a subtle shadow here and there but using myself as an example, my tone is more white than flesh. Also, shadows around my nose or under my chin makes me look kind of fat when I'm not at all.

So, I took the initiative and looked at some books and found out about color or white balance. I changed mine to "tungsten" because I only shoot indoors. That seemed to help a lot as far as realistic flesh tones. Then I adjusted something called "ISO" and set that to 100. All this was done in manual mode. That's about it so far.