Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

First Ever HS Soccer Match

I thought I'd go and take a few pictures at a high school tournament. Since this was the first soccer match I ever watched, I wasn't sure what to expect. Well, the first 10 minutes had the following injuries, one dislocated knee, one shin contusion and 2 concussions!! I thought this was a non-contact sport. Since I know lots about sports, I know it was just a fluke but certainly made it interesting.
    Since I'm really a beginner and need help with my settings and tips on how to make my pictures better, I was hoping some of you could help.
    It was a very sunny day so I set the first two pictures to 200 ISO, F/9 and 1/640.
    The last two were 200 ISO, F/8 and 1/400. I tried to include the striking of the ball. I really see a difference in the 2nd two, blurry to me and also the color doesn't seem as sharp. The first 2 maybe alittle dark. Am I close on what I see?
    Any tips are very appreciated. I really like this forum because the people that reply really know their stuff and are helpful to us beginners.
    Thanks in advance
    Depack
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails First Ever HS Soccer Match-soccer1.jpg   First Ever HS Soccer Match-soccer3.jpg   First Ever HS Soccer Match-soccer4.jpg  
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Re: First Ever HS Soccer Match

Speaking strictly for myself, I use a 70-300mm zoom and I have all kinds of trouble with shadows from bb caps, so I can't give you much advice on exposure. The bottom shot is a little crooked, and you need to straighten it a little. That's mainly my only nitpick. It looks like you're doing ok.

Sports photo junkie jorgemonkey's Avatar

They look pretty good to me for your first time out.