Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.
    Photonerd

Andrea (portrait)

So I'm still new at this whole portraiture concept. My friend wanted a new picture, but she is very self-concious, so I was trying to get her to relax by having her play around with some branches. Her best feature is her eyes, so I focused on those. I know this photo is a little out of the ordinary in terms of a portrait where you usually want to see the person's whole face, but she was really pleased with how this one turned out. Any suggestions?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Andrea (portrait)-andrea2.jpg  
    Feel free to edit/re-post my photos as you like

Nikon Samurai #28

Not-so-recent Nikon Convert livin4lax09's Avatar

Re: Andrea (portrait)

interesting idea, and definitely out of the box, but I'm not a big fan. The loss of the mouth is what does it. I think if you're going to block the lower features out, you have to go all out. you can't only see part of them. also looks like you're focused on the leaves, not the eyes. good color in the eyes though, but curves should bring that out even more.

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

I like the composition and the hair color and lips are complimentary to the leaf colors.
    I find my eyes pulled to the partially blocked lips and then eyes and then following branches back to the lips
    I prefer these more causal portraits but I'm not good at capturing them.

Photonerd

thanks for the comments!

Nikon Samurai #28