Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Minolta DiMAGE Z10 v. Slave Flash

Ok, I am new here. I am a news photographer (video) for a Houston Independent New Service, and come from a still background, but I havent used a Pro still rig in a few years (the last one was an...F5). This past Christmas, I received a Minolta DiMAGE Z10 and absolutely LOVE it. I leave it in my news unit and have loads of fun snapping frames all day. The one thing is I plan on purchasing a slave flash unit, I belive a "Pheonix" unit, off of ebay, only around $40. I dont really want to invest too much into this camera, except for a wide and tele lens, filters, and a flash bracket.

My question is, how will such a slave flash unit, triggered by the IR beam of the on camera flash, handle the Z10. I have read many newer digital cameras send a pre-flash for white balance, and then the flash for exposure of the image. I have my Z10 on manual mode, and no pre-flash is visible, but my eyes arent the best. Can anyone tell me how the Z10 performs with slave flashes? Thanks alot, I look forward to posting much more.

Re: Minolta DiMAGE Z10 v. Slave Flash

The one thing is I plan on purchasing a slave flash unit, I belive a "Pheonix" unit, off of ebay, only around $40. I dont really want to invest too much into this camera, except for a wide and tele lens, filters, and a flash bracket.