• 11-21-2004, 11:24 PM
    Style Juba
    Mass 35mm scanner suggestions?
    Here's my situation, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have been hired by a local physician to scan his massive collection of medical slides he has taken throughout the years of his practice. He once gave me a rough estimate of about 30,000 to 40,000 slides.

I have been working for him for several months scanning on a UMAX Powerlook 1000 flatbed scanner. This scanner is very suitable for my application in terms of resolution and quality, but it is unreasonably slow. It takes more than half an hour to scan 15 slides at 700dpi. I know from experience with other scanners that this is really an unacceptable speed.

So my question is, what type of scanner would be the best for my situation? Due to the high volume of slides I am scanning, speed is much more of an issue than quality. As long as the scanner can scan at atleast 700dpi with moderately good clarity, that would be substantial. The other important factor, is batch scanning. Ideally, I would like a scanner that is capable of scanning large quantities of slides in a single batch capture.

A scanner that has caught my eye as fulfilling all these requirements is the UMAX Powerlook 2100XL. You can view the manufacturer's information here...
    http://www.umax.com/scanners/index.j...num=SPKG-14127

However, I have been unable to find much outside information on this model to see if it is really that good or fast.

Also, since I am used to flatbed scanners, I haven't really looked into slide/film specific scanners. I know that they are capable of achieving much better quality results, but as I have already said, that is not so much of an issue for me. Speed and high volume batch captures are the biggest points I am looking for in a scanner. But I am not against the idea of using a slide/film specific scanner as long as it can meet my standards.