• 04-08-2004, 08:46 PM
    christopher_platt
    Finally got a D70 - now how about software?
    Hey all-
    I'm new to digital, been saving for a D70 for months, finally sold my film slr and went for it. . .However, being in college (in beautiful but not so inexpensive Monterey) with a wife and baby pretty much means that it'll be a while before I can buy anything else to go with it. As far as software, the only thing I already have on my computer is Arcsoft photoimpression, which can't work with the NEF files, and seems to be a pretty weak program anyway. . .the PictureProject software doesn't really do any real editing, and photoshop will have to wait until I can take digital imaging at school and financial aid will pay for it (at least a few months away). How is Nikon Capture 4.1? Would it be able to do the basic enhancements on my photos (white balance, color levels, etc.) and at least get me to the point of having decently printable images, at least until I can get photoshop? Or should I just save the $150 and wait till I can get Photoshop CS (it's only $379 for students).
    Also:
    Like I said, I'm new to this digital thing. Should I worry about white balance a lot when I'm shooting, or can it be totally corrected after? I know with exposure, there's stuff you lose that you'll never get back if you don't do it right (highlight detail, etc.). Is white balance like that or is it totally fixable? What about all of the color level settings in the camera (sharpening, tone comp., saturation, hue adjustment, etc.) And what about color? I've been reading that CS supports - what is it - 16 bit or 24 bit color, or something like that? I vaguely understand color bit depth, and I know that the higher the better - but what is the D70 capable of? I thought I read somewhere that it only supported 12 bit, but maybe that was jpeg or a different color mode or something. . .

Thanks a million in advance.
    Christopher
  • 04-08-2004, 10:15 PM
    coloradoamigo