Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Thread: Model Shot

Model Shot

This shot was done for a friend of mine to lauch a new clothing line. It was taken with a 30MP digital back ($25,000) on a medium format camera. It was not mine however, we only rented it.
    Last edited by BoingBoing; 04-16-2007 at 06:47 PM.

Re: Model Shot

I am no portrait expert but I feel the lighting on her face is bad. From the nose down it is way to dark. There is a heavy shadow under the chin that is distracting. Maybe you should have invested a little more money in some reflectors or flashes.
    I am like Barney Fife, I have a gun but Andy makes me keep the bullet in my pocket..

Sony a99/a7R

I feel the shadow of her chin on her neck is the main crit but what is good about this I feel outweighs that problem.. It is a fun, happy and original pose from who I imagine is a fun character to be with. I love the almost triangular background shapes formed by the angles of her shoulders, which nicely fill the bottom of the frame, and her afro hair that correspondingly fills the top of the frame..
    And that smile definitely takes the place of open eyes.
    Very enjoyable indeed.
    Tom
    http://www.overbeyond.com

I have a total lack of respect for anything connected with society, except that which makes the roads safer, the beer stronger, the food cheaper, and the old men and old women warmer in the winter and happier in the summer. Brendan Behan

Quote Originally Posted by BoingBoing