Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Newer to the studio

Hi Everyone ... I've only posted a couple times thus far and mostly in the Sports forum. I'm fairly new to shooting in the studio; I bought some AlienBees a couple months ago and just got my first ever roll of black seamless last week. Luckily I found a friend at work who was willing to take a couple minutes and be my photo guinea pig! Any critique you could throw my way would be greatly appreciated.

Adam

Re: Newer to the studio

Adam, Technically the framing, colors, focus and everything looks good. Maybe the lighting on the right side (her left) is a little hot. I think the critique would be with the subject and her facial expression, specifically the raised eyebrow and the wide open eyes. The raised eyebrow makes wrinkles in the forehead. Now I realize every portrait doesn’t have to be a smile and the raised eyebrow may work if you were trying to show emotion but the wide open eyes don’t tell that story. So Im a little confused as to what she is thinking. My point is that as a photographer you are in charge of getting the subject to lighten up or do whatever it is you’re looking for, at least when your doing studio portraits.

By the way, I'm not a studio photographer so someone else may disagree, but I do deal with models and photo shoots for many projects.