Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Thread: Rusty

Rusty

Hello everyone, this is my first post, just looking for some feedback on some photos as I as I am just starting out doing photography. Any comments or critiques/suggestions are more than welcome. This picture is just some piece of metal stuck on the side of a barn WAY out in the country. Thanks everyone!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Rusty-img_0339.gif  

Re: Rusty

Eoky,

Good first shot and welcome to the boards. I love the potential for this, as I think the texture between the wood and the rust is a great combination. My few nitpicks would be, firstly, is that just discoloration underneath the rust? Though I think it adds some contrast, it just doesn't work for me as is. That being said, I think a less tight crop might help that out a bit, but I am a renowned () minimalist in my shots so that just might be my biasedness coming through.

Nice to see you posting and hope you enjoy the forums,

Jared

Hey thanks a lot Jared, I appreciate any constructive criticism that I can get. I really want to become good at this, because I really enjoy the heck out of it. with that been said, let me have it everyone

Quote Originally Posted by eoky
    Hey thanks a lot Jared, I appreciate any constructive criticism that I can get. I really want to become good at this, because I really enjoy the heck out of it. with that been said, let me have it everyone
    Great attitude and you'll learn a helluva lot with that type of mindset.

Good luck,

Jared