What to charge for my photography services?

So I landed a job as a photographer for the local college. I will be photographing staff, events, and students working in the various programs the college offers. They have given me a week to think about how much I want to charge and how I want to be charged.

I have very little knowledge with this kind of thing. I do photo shoots once in a while and charge $30-$50 for an hours work. This however is a college and I will be working up to 6 hours at a time. Should I do an hourly rate? and if so how much? I'm very confident in my ability to deliver the kind of photos they need but I do not want to charge too much and lose the job opportunity.

I have 2 years of experience under my belt. Including about 13 photo shoots, 8 sports events, and a wedding. Given my experience what would be a good rate for my services?

Re: What to charge for my photography services?

WoW 3 months and not one reply?????

I will help if I can.

For work where I spend several hours I usally charge a set price for depending on the job at hand, for field work I charge by the hour.

For a photo shoot on site it would be a set amount say like $250 and then if the job will take some more time in editing you need to figure in those hours I usally charge around 20 to 25 an hour for that. It really depends on the job.

With that being said, I know of several people in my area that charge up to $1000 for sit in photo shoot which IMO is way to much but people will pay what they want for what they think is the best. I myself will under cut all of them by 50% so that I can get the work. So check in your area for prices of others and price same or less and you should do ok, just keep in mind the ones who charge $250+ an hour think they do better work then you photography is an art what looks good to you may not look good to me. I have a good friend who charges $50 for a sitting and her work looks better then 80% of the high price places in my area.