Paid models?

Printable View

• 01-12-2009, 08:36 PM
    draymorton
    Paid models?
    Is it common practice for models who are not all that famous to want to be paid - handsomely, in some cases - just for the privilege of shooting them? Is it an occurrence that is generally accepted among photographers, a tacit model-photog understanding that has somehow managed to escape me?

Forgive me if this is a dumb question - I'm totally new to shooting models who aren't friends, or friends of friends of second cuzzins thrice-removed... or whom I'm not shooting for an assignment other than one which is self-imposed (portfolio-padding) - but is it the norm for photographers to have to pay someone who isn't Heidi Klum or... the male equivalent of Heidi Klum... for their time?

Reason I'm asking... I just pitched an idea to a model, non-famous in the grand scheme of things, who asked to be paid $150/hr plus travel expenses (which would in this case amount to about $100). If this is, indeed, protocol and par for the course, then cool, but is it, in fact?

Thanks for any thoughts.
  • 01-13-2009, 05:50 AM
    jetrim
    Re: Paid models?
    From what I know of the subject, there is a bit of a leap once the model has been published and has established a name in the industry. Going rate for models in the glamour world for intermediates is $50/hr with a 3 hr minimum. Travel expense is customary across the board no matter who hires the model. So unless this model has had cover/feature work published in a nationally known magazine, the quote is about triple what it should be, if they have, it's still on the very high end of customary. If they are completely unpublished and have less than 3 years experience, even with a substantial portfolio, going rate is $30/hr. Without a good port and minimal experience, it is TFP/TFCD (trade time for photos/CD of images from the shoot).