Unhappy Photo being used for profit w/o my consent

A few years ago I took some pix of my friend's dog as a favor among friends. It's not like I'm a pro photog or anything.

This same friend sent me an e-mail today, upset after finding a link to a web site that is using the photo of her dog as a check design.

I just contacted the company via e-mail asking where they got the image (I imagine it will take a few days to hear back from them) and then started researching how/where it could have been acquired.

It's this photo .. http://gallery.photographyreview.com...&ppuser=237891 and it's being used here ... http://www.checksyourway.com/htm/ite...hp?item_id=566

In addition to being posted on this site, I gave an electronic copy of the image to my friend, but she sounded upset enough by the discovery that I don't think she's the one who provided the image. But who knows, maybe she gave the image to someone who gave it to someone else. I'll have to ask her some more questions.

Someone even took the time to photoshop out the collar. And it's been cropped. Does that mean the photo is no longer mine because it's been altered?

I don't really know where to go with this. What's your 2 cents?

An old friend of mine from PhotographyReview.com used to tell me *all* the time to put copyright info on all of my pix that I post and circulate via e-mail. In this case, I did, but it's pretty small and indescreet.

Sigh ... I dunno. It doesn't feel like a big deal to me, but it's the principal of the thing. Your thoughts?

Kentucky Wildlife

Re: Photo being used for profit w/o my consent

That does look like the same shot to me, altered, cloned (I can still see a little orange around his neck) and noisy, like a low-resolution image copied from here. Looks to me like you've got a case, and I would take printed copies of your image and the webpage to a copywrite lawyer.