Question How Much Compensation for Photos in a Major Ad Campaign?

New here, but not to photography. I'm just trying to get as much info as I can as this is the first time something like this has come up.

Slight background: I'm an astronomy grad student and I do a lot of astrophotography. (That's about all that's important.)

The case: I was contacted by a woman who works for a pretty significant ad firm in San Francisco, whose clients include Frito-Lay, Saturn, Budweiser, Adobe, HP, Netflix, Sprint, and Starbucks. They are now designing an ad for "prevage" night cream for Elizabeth Arden (big cosmetics firm, I'm told ... I'm a guy so I don't know these things). In the print ad, they want to use three of my images of the moon - a ~35% crescent that goes down to a ~5% crescent that then turns into the product (the tagline of the ad is that you're supposed to wake up looking younger than the night before). So it's a fairly integral part of the ad, but not the focal point. She said that their budget for the three images is $2000.

So, to me, that seems like a lot of money - at face value - and I should take it and run.

But, this is a major firm, for a major client in a major industry. They are requesting 1-year unlimited reproduction rights (for this campaign) in all print and web ads (so including billboards, direct-mail, web banners, magazines, etc.) And they also want to negotiate for a second year (if the campaign is renewed a second year) in advance. So my reaction to that is then that $2k seems pretty small.

So I'm in a situation where I have no idea what's standard practice (like did she purposely low-ball me initially and expect to negotiate upwards?), what I should expect, and how to ask for more money (if I find out that I "should" be getting much more) without them running off and finding someone else.

Basically, if anyone has any ideas/experience/advice, please let me know!

Re: How Much Compensation for Photos in a Major Ad Campaign?