• 08-27-2009, 11:08 PM
    mdkphotography
    Do I need a press pass for fire photos?
    Let me tell you my problem. I am a beginning photographer. I'm a sophomore in college studying photography. My boyfriend is a U.S Forest Service FireFighter. One of the engine crews a couple years back died in a fire and the anniversary is coming up. The Captain asked me if I could take a good night shot of a fire for them. They want to frame it and use it for the anniversary coming up. I live in southern California and there are always fires, especially in the upcoming months.

Anyways, I have a little sports lens for my camera (300mm). I need to get closer than pedestrians can.

Any advice?

I really want a pass to get close but I don't know how to obtain one? Press pass? Forest Service pass?

I've heard of freelance photographer pass, but with something like a wildland fire, I think its too dangerous and they wouldn't let anyone freelance get past.

I really have no idea how to get close enough, but I really want to do this for my boyfriends engine crew. It is for a good cause.

please help!
  • 08-28-2009, 12:17 AM
    jorgemonkey
    Re: Do I need a press pass for fire photos?
    Welcome to the site! I'm not quite sure on what exactly you'll need, but my thoughts would be to talk to either US Forestry department & let them know what you'd like to do & the reason why. My only thoughts of not letting you get close is the obvious danger of being close to a wildfire. I believe we actually have a firefighter or two (city/county) on this site & hopefully they can start pointing you in the right direction.
  • 09-01-2009, 10:12 PM
    ken1953