Can someone help me with Copyrighting?

I was wondering if someone could give me some pointers on how to copyright my photos to post on the web. I'm extremely new to photography and would like as much guidance and imput as I can get.

Thanks

Jason

Re: Can someone help me with Copyrighting?

There are at least three ways I can think of, each successively stronger than the previous (OK, so the first two really have no strength at all):

(1) Overlay an actual copyright notice right onto the photo itself. This is in my estimation really only good for low resolution stuff that you might toss out on the web. It can be removed rather easily (cropped or a clone tool) by someone really interested in removing it. It's use is really only informational.

(2) Properties meta data associated with the file. Windows allows you to make changes to the meta data associated with the file as does most photo-processing software tools. However, as with overlaying a copyright onto the image, this too can be removed pretty simply and is really only informational as well.

(3) DigiMarc. This is a licensed service. A watermark that is used to identify the picture as copyrighted by you is embedded within the image data. There are varying degrees of "strength" that can be applied where copying and editing have varying degrees of impact on the watermark, from some to none.

I'm sure there are other ways, but these are the ones I'm aware of. Additionally, I'd be a little hesitant about making hi-res images available on the web. Most images viewed in web pages need only about 72ppi screen resolution to be viewed well. Using images at that resolution make for poor reproduction. So, putting an image at 150ppi or greater doesn't serve much of a purpose for viewing on the web (it just presents a larger dimensional image), but the download can be printed with good results. You might want to consider that, too.

[Edit: I noticed that this thread also discusses protecting your digital images.]