Can I sell this?

Printable View

• 03-14-2010, 07:57 AM
    Grandpaw
    1 Attachment(s)
    Can I sell this?
    I was driving along the beach and spotted this boat and took some pictures of it. My question is, can I sell a copy of it? The name of the boat is not showing, Jeff
  • 03-14-2010, 08:20 AM
    OldClicker
    Re: Can I sell this?
    Why not - even with the name of the boat? - TF
  • 03-14-2010, 11:19 AM
    Frog
    Its in public view so I don't know why not. But I'm not a lawyer either.
  • 03-15-2010, 05:39 AM
    Grandpaw
    Thanks for your replies TF and Frog. I guess I will have some printed up and give it a try, Jeff
  • 03-15-2010, 10:56 AM
    Photo-John
    It depends on the usage. For fine art prints, I think it's fine. For editorial it would definitely be ok. Where you would run into trouble would be if you used it in an advertisement. Then you would be using it to make money and you'd have to have a release from the owner and maybe even from the passengers on the boat.
  • 03-15-2010, 02:16 PM
    Grandpaw
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Photo-John
    It depends on the usage. For fine art prints, I think it's fine. For editorial it would definitely be ok. Where you would run into trouble would be if you used it in an advertisement. Then you would be using it to make money and you'd have to have a release from the owner and maybe even from the passengers on the boat.

What I want to do is just frame it and sell it along with my bird, landscapes and other shots that I have. Would this be OK? It looks like you have already answered my question but I just want to be sure it is OK, Jeff
  • 03-15-2010, 06:23 PM
    Photo-John
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Grandpaw
    What I want to do is just frame it and sell it along with my bird, landscapes and other shots that I have. Would this be OK? It looks like you have already answered my question but I just want to be sure it is OK, Jeff