Pentax and K-Mount Cameras Forum

Pentax Cameras Forum For discussing Pentax cameras and all K-Mount SLRs, including Pentax and Samsung digital SLRs. Your Pentax Cameras Forum moderator is ken1953.
Pentax Digital SLR Reviews >>
Samsung Digital SLR Reviews >>
Pentax 35mm SLR Reviews >>
All Pentax Product Reviews >>

What now for my k100d

Since it's my birthday my wife wants to buy me something for my K100d. Budget is around $300, so I am thinking flash or lens. I already have the kit 18-55 and a 50-200 mm lens. I was thinking I would like the 540 flash but have been reading a few bad reviews about a pin breaking off. I have also been thinking wide angle lens.
    I am a newbie looking for suggestions from those more experienced than I for the $300 addition for my new hobby. I now take mostly outdoor or travel photos but at some point in time I want to start taking interior shots.

The red headed step child jgredline's Avatar

Re: What now for my k100d

With out question, I would add the Pentax FA 50 F1/4.
    It is blazing fast and can shoot in really dark situations..Perfect for indoor and out door photography. The lens sells for under $200.00 and the lens hood. (get a rubber one) sells for about $15.00 bucks....As far as the flash goes, I have not heard of the pins breaking off unless they are banged against something...
    εὐχαριστέω σύ
    αποκαλυπτεται γαρ οργη θεου απ ουρανου επι πασαν ασεβειαν και αδικιαν ανθρωπων των την αληθειαν εν αδικια κατεχοντων
    διοτι το γνωστον του θεου φανερον εστιν εν αυτοις ο γαρ θεος αυτοις εφανερωσεν
    τα γαρ αορατα αυτου απο κτισεως κοσμου τοις ποιημασιν νοουμενα καθοραται η τε αιδιος αυτου δυναμις και θειοτης εις το ειναι αυτους αναπολογητους

Thanks Javier, the fa 50 has been ordered and is on its way

The red headed step child jgredline's Avatar

You will be very happy with it. There is also a 50mm only thread here in the view finder forum. Check it out.
    εὐχαριστέω σύ