Pentax and K-Mount Cameras Forum

Pentax Cameras Forum For discussing Pentax cameras and all K-Mount SLRs, including Pentax and Samsung digital SLRs. Your Pentax Cameras Forum moderator is ken1953.
Pentax Digital SLR Reviews >>
Samsung Digital SLR Reviews >>
Pentax 35mm SLR Reviews >>
All Pentax Product Reviews >>

Pentax K-5 DSLR Opinions

I am a relatively advanced SLR amateur, primarily from the film days. My wife now want a DSLR (much to my approval). I don't take enough pictures to warrant a camera of my own, but if I'm going to spend the cash on a nicer DSLR, I want to get one that will meet the demands of the photography I do get involved in. I had been looking at an FX format Nikon D700. My wife has always been partial to Pentax cameras, and we've had good luck with them. We visited a local camera shop and I saw the Pentax DLRs. I looked at the K-5. I like the 1080p HD recording capability, the sensor resolution and the feel of the camera. I know the camera will do everything my wife will want it to do. I also think I'll manage.

Does anyone here have any opinions on this camera? Any suggestions about lenses are alos welcome. I would rather get one really nice lens an a lower quality one. The camera shop guy mentioned Sigma lenses are pretty nice. I like to get something like a 50-150 zoom.

Thanks, in advance.

Greg Wilkerson

Light and Shadow Samurai

Re: Pentax K-5 DSLR Opinions

Greg,

I shoot the Pentax K7 which has the same form factor/body as the K5. The K5 has some improvements that I am looking forward to, such as 7fps shutter and 51,200 iso. I am very happy with the camera. I shoot some landscapes, weddings, events, concerts, and lots of models. I can't really imagine needing more than the K5 offers.

It is a crop factor sensor, and that doesn't really bother me.