Pentax and K-Mount Cameras Forum

Pentax Cameras Forum For discussing Pentax cameras and all K-Mount SLRs, including Pentax and Samsung digital SLRs. Your Pentax Cameras Forum moderator is ken1953.
Pentax Digital SLR Reviews >>
Samsung Digital SLR Reviews >>
Pentax 35mm SLR Reviews >>
All Pentax Product Reviews >>

Have the lenses, need a digital body

Hello from CT's beautiful flooded vacation shoreline. I have a Pentax PZ-1p with an SMC FA 28-80 Power Zoom and an FA 100-300 Zoom. I'm a pretty casual photographer, and broke. Can anyone recommend a Pentax digital body that will accept these lenses?

Thanks!

Bart Brown

Re: Have the lenses, need a digital body

Quote Originally Posted by bartbrn
    Hello from CT's beautiful flooded vacation shoreline. I have a Pentax PZ-1p with an SMC FA 28-80 Power Zoom and an FA 100-300 Zoom. I'm a pretty casual photographer, and broke. Can anyone recommend a Pentax digital body that will accept these lenses?

Thanks!

Bart Brown
    As far as I know, any Pentax DSLR will accept those lenses. In fact, I'm pretty sure any Pentax DSLR will accept every Pentax lens ever made, though some models require an inexpensive adapter ring. Some won't AF, but will meter and otherwise work well.

If you have a limited budget for a DSLR, how about skipping the new models and getting an older, pre-used one?

*ist D series cameras can be had for under $300CAD nowadays, and recently I saw a K100D for $250CAD. Craigslist is a good place, and local photo stores often carry lots of pre-used equipment.

I currently shoot with a pre-used *ist D---its an awesome camera!

Thanks for the input! Considering the price of even a used *ist D at 6MP, would I be better off looking for a K2000, at 10MP?

Thanks again

Bart

Pentax Forum Moderator

Hi Bart and welcome to PR...