Pentax and K-Mount Cameras Forum

Pentax Cameras Forum For discussing Pentax cameras and all K-Mount SLRs, including Pentax and Samsung digital SLRs. Your Pentax Cameras Forum moderator is ken1953.
Pentax Digital SLR Reviews >>
Samsung Digital SLR Reviews >>
Pentax 35mm SLR Reviews >>
All Pentax Product Reviews >>

Thread: Asahi Pentax ME

Asahi Pentax ME

I've recently inherited a Pentax ME camera from my grandfather, who passed away a few years ago. I admit to being an absolute newb when it comes to cameras, especially a fairly nice one like this. In addition to the camera body, it has these pieces with it:

- Sears model no. 202 macro lens
    - Rokunar Auto 2x Tele-Converter (4E/MC)
    - Owen Automatic MC 1:2.8 135mm lens
    - SMC Pentax-M 1:1.7 50mm lens
    - Rokunar 55mm Polarizer
    - Thyristor Sunpak auto244D flash
    - Leather camera cover
    - Nice Tough Traveler canvas carrying case for everything

I'd like a little information on this camera, if anyone has it. I've visited the Wikipedia page for the M series of cameras, and I've been to the Pentax webpage and printed out the manual for it. I know it uses 35mm film...but that's about the extent of my knowledge about it. The mechanisms all seem to work smoothly, with no problems.

What sort of film should I be using for this? Is this considered a decent camera? Can I expect good quality photos out of this? I've always wanted to get into photography, but never had anything more than a cheap digital camera to do it with; if I can use this to start taking nice photos right off the bat, then that's great. If not, I'll start saving up for a nice digital SLR or something along those lines.

Any and all information you folks can give me will be much appreciated...thanks in advance from a newb.

~Mar
    Last edited by halmotors; 07-15-2008 at 08:08 AM.

Formerly Michael Fanelli, mwfanelli, mfa mwfanelli2's Avatar

Re: Asahi Pentax ME

Quote Originally Posted by halmotors