Pentax and K-Mount Cameras Forum

Pentax Cameras Forum For discussing Pentax cameras and all K-Mount SLRs, including Pentax and Samsung digital SLRs. Your Pentax Cameras Forum moderator is ken1953.
Pentax Digital SLR Reviews >>
Samsung Digital SLR Reviews >>
Pentax 35mm SLR Reviews >>
All Pentax Product Reviews >>

lenses for the samsung gx 1s

hi there, im in the UK and have one of the above cameras. i need to know what lenses are available for this camera and what i need to ask for when ordering them. please be gentle with me im very new to this camera lol

thanks

lydia

Re: lenses for the samsung gx 1s

Any K mount lens will fit and work well.
    Will you need auto focus?
    Look through a glass eye.
    Give it a few tries.
    Nothing goes right in its time.
    --Tally Hall--

dont know but the lens im after is a telephoto lens around the 250mm-300mm

Budget? Subjects?

Samsung made their DSLR with the Pentax lens mount, which makes it compatible with a huge number of lenses, including a lot of old manual focus lenses. Why don't you give us some more info on how much you have to spend and what kind of subjects you plan to take pictures of. Then we can help point you to some good lens options that will work for you and fit your budget
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!

Pentax Forum Moderator

Hi Lydia, Welcome to PR and the Pentax and K-Mount forum. As Photo John mentioned above, your camera is capable of using all K-mount lenses. The only limitations will be that some will not be able to use your "Auto" functions and therefore will have to be operated "manually". These are mostly your older lenses manual lenses.

From your previous post, it sounds like you are interested in some sort of telephoto lens. I currently use a Pentax SMC DA 50-200mm 4.0-5.6 ED for my everyday lens. It gives me the length I need for most of my distance shots and yet I can still do some nice closeup shots as well.