• 06-17-2011, 01:04 PM
    weilkevin
    XZ-1 - Low Light Questions
    First off, let me say that I am extremely new to photography. Earlier this year I decided to really invest in a camera and did some research. I decided that I wanted something fairly compact yet still have some of the features of a DSLR. I found a few high end "point-and-shoot" models and got really excited about them all. The main thing that pushed me towards the XZ-1 was the bright F1.8 lens.

So basically, this is my first camera that is anything more than a $100 point and shoot. With that said, I'm not sure how cameras are supposed to perform in low light. In my research I learned a few things about my settings: lower ISO yields less noise in the photo but a higher ISO can help with low light, lower F number allows more light in, and lower shutter speed lets the light in for longer. After working with the XZ-1 for a few months now and really learning how to use the fully manual settings, I'm still fairly disappointed with the low light performance. Now this may be because I'm unfamiliar with how cameras usually perform in low light but I don't see what all the fuss is about with the low light performance.

I have a few theories about why my images aren't coming out the best.
    -Not using a tripod
    -Subjects moving
    -Indoor lighting-I'm not sure how this changes things but I'm amazed at how the camera interprets indoor lighting vs natural sunlight. (The sun is very impressive!)

Finally let me say that I don't really need to take photos in low light, I would just like to know if I'm doing something wrong or if I'm just misunderstanding something all together.

I'll try to see if I can find some examples of what I'm talking about.

Thanks all!
  • 06-17-2011, 03:28 PM
    micha56170
    Re: XZ-1 - Low Light Questions